Week 4 Review

10 Apr

Okay, guys! I cannot believe that we have already completed 4 weeks! I am not going to say that is has been easy because those of you following my blog know that it hasn’t been – BUT I am really glad that I have 4 weeks ‘under my belt’ & am getting ready for week 5!

1. Tracking

Here is a recap of my WW+ points for week 4. I am feeling pretty good about my eating this past week. I didn’t have any days where I had excessive unhealthy eating and I only used about 8 of my “bonus points” for the week (in case you all don’t know, you get 49 a week). You also get additional points for exercising but I do not ever allow myself to use those – it almost seems counterproductive to me! Here it is:

Date

WW+ Points

Bonus Points

3-Apr

33

4

4-Apr

24

0

5-Apr

33

4

6-Apr

29

0

7-Apr

27

0

8-Apr

28

0

9-Apr

24

0

Below is a recap of my exercise for week 4. I was able to make it to the gym 4 times this past week, which is within my goal/plan. Thursday night was difficult for me as I was feeling tired & worn out from the week. Fortunately, I didn’t completely destroy all of my efforts like I did last week (you can read about that here). I did decide to just exercise using the Gazelle at home instead of going to the gym. It was much less intense and I burned less calories than I would have burned at the gym for the same amount of time (1 hour), but I am glad that I got the exercise in either way! Plus, I got in some great workouts this week as well.

Date

Cardio

Machine

Calories

Distance

Weights

3-Apr

Rest

Rest

Rest

Rest

Rest

4-Apr

60

Gazelle

280

N/A

N

5-Apr

Rest

Rest

Rest

Rest

Rest

6-Apr

30

Elliptical

242

2.27

4 x 12

7-Apr

Rest

Rest

Rest

Rest

Rest

8-Apr

50

Treadmill

326.9

3.21

4 x 12

9-Apr

50

Treadmill

329.6

3.29

N

Guess what, you guys?! This week I lost….

2 more pounds! Woo!

Total to Date: 7 pounds lost

2. Thoughts

Watching what I eat & exercising is becoming a lot more natural for me now. It is not easier, that’s for sure, but I am starting to get in the mindset of “oh well – that’s just how it is”. On the days I really don’t feel like working out? I do it anyways. On the days that I am really craving a juicy bacon-cheeseburger that is about 30 points (which has been all this week, by the way)? I choose the grilled chicken breast instead. It’s not always easy and I’m not always a good sport about it BUT I always feel good about the choice after the fact.

Also, my last two work outs have been great! I have a new burst of motivation and energy and, let me tell you, I had no idea I could sweat that much. I think for the first time I experienced what they call a “runner’s high” – and I wasn’t even running the whole time! I am hoping that if I can put in work outs every day like my last few…I will see even better results!

Good luck you guys! I know that there isn’t always instant reward for working out and eating healthier foods BUT keep in mind how much your body will love, love, love you for it (& I’ll love you for it too)!

week4

*Please feel free to leave comments below by selecting “Leave a Comment” and then typing in the text box labeled “Leave a Reply”!*

3 Responses to “Week 4 Review”

  1. Amanda Smith April 10, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    GREAT JOB GIRL!!!! You are doing great & making great habits for yourself. Try getting in some more weights, they really help keep the weight off & they burn more calories long after your workout is done. Keep it up.

    • ashleyfurlong April 15, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

      Thank you!! I was thinking that I needed to incorporate more weights as well – I just didn’t want to overdo it with weightlifting several days in a row. Hmmm. I will need to do some research. Thanks for the encouragement!!

  2. Lauren W April 27, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    You can also mix in bodyweight exercises that don’t need any equipment (but maybe a mat). They’re considered part of strength training and work a lot of muscles at once. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Love Birds

Highschool Sweethearts to Newlyweds: A glimpse into our journey together

