Two Things

14 Mar

First: Thank you!

Wow! I am overwhelmed by all of the positive feedback and encouragement I have received after my first post yesterday. I hope you all will continue to follow me on this journey & leave me any suggestions, questions or advice you may have in response to my future posts! Woohoo!

This blog has ALREADY helped to motivate me. I know this is pathetic but last night (you know, my very first day on this journey) I was just dreading going to the gym. I even took my temperature hoping to have a fever so I COULDN’T go – How stinkin’ sad is that? It is so typical of the busy lifestyle, am I right? I got home from working all day, I was tired & my head was killing me. All I wanted to do was dive onto the couch, turn my brain off & turn my favorite show on (with maybe some cheez-its or chocolate to snack on).

BUT knowing that I had all of you rooting for me kept me focused and motivated. – I whined to Matt: “I HAVE to go. The whole world is counting on me!!” Okay, I know, not the whole world but just humor me, here. So go I did.

Second: Tuesday vs. Wednesday

I wanted to share below some of the differences I noticed between Tuesday (my last day of eating like a heifer) & Wednesday (my first day of getting healthy). Now please keep in mind that my Tuesday eating habits were especially unhealthy and not typical, however, it will prove my point just fine:

Tuesday Breakfast: Wednesday Breakfast:
Starbucks bottled mocha Frappuccino
Bacon, egg & cheese biscuit 
Quaker maple & brown sugar oatmeal

breakfast

Tuesday Lunch:  Wednesday Lunch:
Libretto’s pizza (with pineapple & ham)
Small side salad (with ranch dressing)
Cherry Coke (with a refill)
Garlic Knots 
Baked chicken breast (with Kraft Fresh Take coating)
Steamed broccoli & Carrots
Natural Applesauce Cup

lunch

Tuesday Snacks: Wednesday Snacks:
At work: Approximately 6 bite-sized pieces of candy
After work: Peterbrooke chocolate covered popcorn & a chocolate covered Oreo 
At work: Banana
Afterwork: Strawberries

snacks

Tuesday Dinner:  Wednesday Dinner:
12 pieces of Publix sushi (with soy sauce & spicy sauce)  Panera Pick-2 –
Half Greek salad
Half smoked turkey sandwich (no condiments) 

dinner

Tuesday Dessert:  Wednesday Dessert:
Wait for it…. not one, but TWO Klondike bars (Yikes!)  Nada

 & to top it all off, I was able to fit in 35 minutes of cardio (Elliptical) before having to leave for dinner plans, which I feel is a good start:workout

 

Wednesday Weight Watchers Summary:

wednesday ww2

& just for fun (or embarrassment, depending on how you look at it), here is what my WW total would have been on Tuesday (just a rough estimate):

tuesday ww2

Oh my goodness – I am burying my face right now!!

Precisely why beginning this journey has arrived just on time! Thank you for reading along! 🙂

*Please feel free to leave comments below by selecting “Leave a Comment” and then typing in the text box labeled “Leave a Reply”!*

8 Responses to “Two Things”

  1. Lauren W March 14, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    I am so dang proud of you for making the commitment to do this AND for having the courage to be accountable to THE WHOLE WORLD! I really need to do the same and change my eating habits and lifestyle. I’m totally in with you and am willing to help keep you accountable if you need it. I know your blog (goin in my bookmarks, btw) will help keep ME accountable too. If you haven’t discovered them already, Blogilates.com and Toneitup.com have really great workout videos for those days you don’t want to go to the gym or just want something different. And the girls who run them are really really fun and energetic.

    • ashleyfurlong March 14, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

      Hi!! Thank you! I am excited to share my progress, success, and I KNOW failures along the way. I didn’t know about those sites so that is good to keep in mind moving forward. I appreciate any accountability at all! Although I am motivated right now with all of the support & positive feedback, I know that will diminish some eventually and then I will REALLY need! 😉 & I am happy to keep you accountable too!

  2. Amanda Smith March 14, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    So proud of you for eating well yesterday & hitting the gym. It is very important that you are eating close to all your daily points so your body does think you are starving it with minimal calories & start storing what you do give it. I battle this problem, so does Liz & it will fight against your weight loss efforts. Also with the gym I found it helpful for me to 1) find a goal with a deadline to work towards, like a race or event. Something you can challenge yourself to get better at. Push yourself to do your best & do things you never thought you would/could. When I first started running I couldn’t run for a minute straight & now I have done two races & can run 30 – 40 minutes & 3 miles is a typical run for me now. 2) would be try lots of different activities at the gym until you find what you enjoy doing, then you won’t hate going. You will look forward to going to see if you can improve at all orto have that ssweaty, accomplished, on top of the world feeling. Also the gym soon will be better than a cup of coffee at renewing your energy & waking you up. I have such high hopes and excitement for you and things to come to you.

    There is a 5k color mania race (I think that’s what its called) in June & the tickets are on groupon right now for it. I will do it with you if it is something you’d like to do. Just let me know.

    • ashleyfurlong March 15, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks for the advice, Amanda! Good points. I do know that you ideally eat your full amoutn of points with weight watchers – on this day specifically, I ate every time my body was hungry and was full after each time. I felt it was silly to eat something just for the sake of eating more points when I was content. I will just have to make sure I build more points into my meals. & I do ultimately want to train my body to run (I, too, can only run a minute or two straight to start). Thanks again!

  3. Margaret March 15, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    Your Wednesday menu sounds delish!!!!! You are off to a great start, keep it up and it will soon become a way of eating you will look forward to have and enjoy. Exercise is always more fun when you have someone to go with. You have a great partner to go with. We are cheering you on.

    • ashleyfurlong March 15, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Thank you for your support & kind words! It definitely helps to encourage me! I plan to try some healthy recipes to find some low “point” meals that I really enjoy eating! 🙂

  4. Aubrey March 27, 2013 at 3:34 am #

    When I did WW I would “build in” dessert. So if I knew my skinny cow was 3 points I would subtract those 3 points from my daily allotment because I knew that dessert was more important to me than a roll or something. Then, once a week we went to dinner and I ate what I wanted. I didn’t use any of my activity points or my flex points during the week but for that one meal I ate whatever. I still lost weight but because I got to look forward to that one meal without worrying about fitting into points I didn’t really cheat or fall off plan. I think WW is a great plan to be on. It helps put food in perspective and helps you learn proper portion size and alternative options that are healthier choices for things you normally eat.

    Btw, if you haven’t tried spaghetti squash it’s great. Also, the Ronzoni SmartTaste pasta is pretty low in points as far as pasta goes because of the fiber in it. At least it used to be.

    • ashleyfurlong March 28, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

      Those are both really good ideas! I usually try to leave myself a few points for dessert but I only eat it if I REALLY want it (even if I do have the points). I just like having the option to eat it if I want to!

      & I like the idea of having one meal a week to eat whatever and not worry about it. That would require me to first stop using my bonus points a few at a time and save them 😉

      & yes – I LOVE spaghetti squash! I actually like it more than pasta when we eat spaghetti. It’s great!

Leave a Reply

Love Birds

Highschool Sweethearts to Newlyweds: A glimpse into our journey together

