Welcome!

13 Mar

Hi! Thank you for joining me on this journey!

As many of you know, I got married one year ago to the man of my dreams! & I felt and looked great that day (I mean, let’s be honest).

Although this first year of marriage has been the best time of my life, I gained weight like many people do during their first year of marriage – & I’m not talking a few pounds. Now, I am not going to give you my digits quite yet but I will tell you that I gained 40 pounds in one year. 40 pounds! With my 5’3” height, let’s just say my BMI isn’t the prettiest little number you ever did see.

So now that I have made the commitment to get healthy, I am hoping that I will be back to my wedding day body (or better, even!) this time next year when we celebrate our second wedding anniversary.

I am sure my path to becoming healthy will change as I learn what works for my body and what doesn’t, but to start, here are my goals: 

  • Weight Watchers Points Plus – to help guide healthy eating and portion sizes
  • Exercise a minimum of 4 times a week & a maximum of 6 times a week

 

Today is Day #1 – Wish me luck!

 

*Please feel free to leave comments below by selecting “Leave a Comment” and then typing in the text box labeled “Leave a Reply”!*

 

 

 

12 Responses to “Welcome!”

  1. Matt Furlong March 13, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    I am so proud of you baby. You are strong and bold, and I know that you are going to be succesful with this. Don’t worry, I’ll make sure to get rid of all the ice cream in the freezer. *wink*

    • ashleyfurlong March 13, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

      I can always count on you to get rid of any delicious temptations! 😉 Thank you for your support – love you!

  2. Kayti March 13, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    I am so proud of you and so excited for your new journey! We should talk about how we can work together to plan healthier meals for our family get-togethers and maybe even exercise together one day a week. I love you and I am excited to follow your journey with you!

    • ashleyfurlong March 13, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

      Thank you for your support! I am sure this will not be a short or easy journey, but I am excited to start. I would love to plan healthier meals and/or meet up to exercise! Love you!

  3. Theresa March 13, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    Congratulations on your commitment, and kudos for choosing the Weight Watchers Points Plus. I have a problem with any diet that eliminates any food because it’s only a Band-Aid. I know that you will make great progress and find the moderation that keeps the weight from coming back!!

    • ashleyfurlong March 13, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      Thank you! I have had good experience with Weight Watchers before. I agree about completely eliminating foods – if you ever decide to eat them again, the weight will come back fast. I am hoping to lose it & keep it off! Thanks for the encouragement! 🙂

  4. Margaret March 14, 2013 at 1:21 am #

    I admire you for taking this step, commitment, and sharing with others. You are inspiring others to come along side of you to share. Take each day as it comes and soon you will see progress and feel good. You are off to a great start!

    • ashleyfurlong March 14, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      Thank you! I know I have a lot of work in front of me but I am excited & am encouraged by all the kind words so far! 🙂

  5. Amanda Smith March 14, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    You have helped my motivation too, Im already energized & ready to get to the gym today! Make sure with WWP+ that you do more veggies than fruits, remember how much sugar is in some of them & always eat a bit of protien with fruit to help the sugar release more slowly. I always do this 30 minutes before going to the gym. I also agree with Rachel that weight lifting is so important to not only losing but maintaining. When I started a year ago I took all my measurements but I really wish I would have taken a before picture to be able to see my changes, even is small. You have already done so great with giving yourself a good strong foundation to start with, let me know if I can ever do anything to help you out. Im so proud of you and excited for you!!!

    • ashleyfurlong March 14, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

      I am so glad this blog has helped to movtivate you too! Great idea to take some “before” pictures – it will be fun to track my progress (& good motivation to keep it off!). I agree with weight lifting. I don’t have the most experience with that but I think it is important to incorporate it into a healthy lifestyle. Thanks for the advice! 🙂

  6. Rachel M March 14, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

    Ashley, this is SUCH a good idea! I’m seriously considering doing something like this too (blogging about it)…maybe posting my meal plans for the week or calorie intake or what exercises I’ve done or SOMETHING….just for accountability purposes. You can do this! We can do this! 😉

    • ashleyfurlong March 14, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

      Thank you! I am excited. I plan to post recipes, exercises, goals, progress, etc. If you have anything that you have found especially helpful, let me know & I would be happy to try it and/or write a post about it if you would like! Thanks for reading! I am hoping that it will keep me accountable & help others to stay accountable too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Love Birds

Highschool Sweethearts to Newlyweds: A glimpse into our journey together

